SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
kitchenpulloutlover

Kitchen Remodel Drama and Heartbreak

Buddy Blanker
6 years ago

Dear Houzz Kitchen Forum

Summary:

Worked for months to design what we wanted. Got the cabinet company engineer's kitchen design instead.

Please let me know your thoughts and what kind of recourse and options I may have.

Long and Drama filled details:

We worked with a designer at a custom kitchen company for several months to get the layout we wanted. They have been in business for many years. This is my first custom remodel ever, so I am a novice on the process.

While exploring options for cabinets and accessories, I fell in love with the peanut shaped blind corner pull out cabinet organizers like this-- https://www.hafele.com/us/en/product/lemans-ii-set-for-blind-corner-cabinets/000000bb000367d200030023. And I do mean I fell in love. I wanted one--badly. I love how it pulls all the way out of the cabinet. I love how each shelf moves separately. I lust after the ability to reach my stuff without crawling on my hands and knees on a hard tile floor. I did online research here and elsewhere on other peoples experiences with these. Many people who had the largest unit available really loved them--the smaller units not so much. I decided I wanted the big one. I discussed this our kitchen designer. She expressed her strong preference for lazy susans based on cost and efficient space utilization. I considered her recommendations for a few days but decided I really wanted the peanut pull out since my old kitchen had a lazy susan and I did not really like it. Our designer measured, and there is enough physical space in our kitchen for the large unit. She specified the largest unit available in our production drawings which we signed off on. I have a copy of these drawings.