SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
ashish_ntx

Need help landscaping front yard

Me Is Me
6 years ago

Hello All,

We finally have time to reclaim our yard that has been lost to weeds & what not over the past few years of neglect. Disclaimer: we are total noobs at this. Currently I'm in the process of setting up the bed's so I can start planting when cooler weather returns. We researched & made a plan, but we have a feeling that it can be better. I'll try to summarize in bullet points & will propose my plan later in the post(you guys can rip me apart, lol). Apologies in advance for a long post, but I think it'll help us in getting the best advice from you guys. We'd appreciate if you can give us your valuable feedback. Pics are at the end of this post.

General description

Our house sits east - west, front of the house faces south. Lot of mature deciduous trees. We are located in North Texas, Zone 7

1. West side of front doors(1st pic) - Very shaded, you can tell in the pics. In summer It gets 3-4 hours of morning sun & about 2 hrs of evening sun.
  2. East side of front doors - Get's sun pretty much the entire day A little shade at end of day
  3. Other side of drive(last pic) - Heavily shaded
  4. Soil is on the alkaline to neutral side per off the shelf test kit - across the entire front yard
  5. Our late summer experiment found the following plants growing nicely in our backyard in full sun - Shasta Daisy, Coneflower, Coreopsis, Russian Sage, Some pink/red salvia, frost proof blue salvia, purple twist lanai verbena, Delphinium, Ice Plant, Lavender, Artemisia, mondo grass, KO roses & Belinda's Dream Rose.
  6. Tall Iris in one of our neglected beds is hardy in that micro climate, comes back year after year with zero effort

Objectives

1. Prefer natives or well adapted cultivars & be water wise

2. After perennials are done for season, we still want some color to persist through the season. If nothing, evergreen shrubs will do