SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
pproph

Basement bathroom tub install

pproph
6 years ago

Here I go, I will try to be concise. For background on my experience I've replaced the main tub in my own home with an alcove soaker, moen single handle valve with diverter and shower, and an acrylic surround. In that reno all supply plumbing was done with copper sweating, all waste with ABS. I've since done other plumbing jobs in my home, so I have some experience (and failures), but by no means am I a pro. Beyond this I also spend about 95% of my time thinking and planning, with the remainder of 5% actually doing (drives the Mrs crazy but this is who I am). I have a few questions and then I will keep updates. The current job is in the in-laws' basement, which will for all intents and purposes be where we live for awhile due to job loss.

First, this install is tub only. It is a 60" alcove tub from Mirolin that is actually a whirlpool soaker. The alcove it is going into is about 74" long. Being in a basement I have complete access to the supply plumbing and can route it in any way I want. With the extra space in the alcove I'm building a knee wall at the plumbing end of the tub with an access underneath to get at the waste plumbing. We have a Roman Faucet which I will be mounting on the knee wall deck. To finish it all off we're going extremely unconventional. We're using a tile look vinyl sheet flooring, and the plan is to use the same flooring as a backsplash 2' up from the tub. I've done some research on the matter and as best I can figure I'm treating it much the same as an acrylic surround, as it is a continuous waterproof material. Being as there is no shower, I'm less concerned about water and leaks than I normally would be. Now, some questions: