SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
hzdeleted_21879251

Boneless Turkey Breast

User
7 years ago

Although I'm not new to Garden Web...I am new to this wonderful cooking forum...and I hope you can give me some feedback on this turkey cooking question.

I live alone so cooking a whole turkey is wasteful for me. I purchased a Butterball boneless turkey breast and checked their website for cooking suggestions. They offered a slow cooker method [not an option for me as I don't own a slow cooker] and a microwave cooking option which I'd like to try.

Butterball directs placing the turkey breast on a shallow microwave tray and cooking at 30% power for 30 minutes on either side. Then removing from oven after cook time...wrapping in aluminum foil and letting it stand for 10 minutes..checking for doneness with a meat thermometer. Yada...yada...yada.

My question! Has anyone ever tried this method...and if so was the end result a moist meat turkey breast? I'm very comfortable with the use of my microwave for this project. I'm just concerned that the end product might be dry meat. Any feedback you can give me will be very appreciated.

Anne

Comments (28)

• sleevendog (5a NY 6aNYC NL CA)
    7 years ago

Also good roasted in the oven like a traditional Turkey. My MIL swears by the roasted breast and 4 big turkey legs when they had Thanksgiving for just the two of them. FIL loved the legs the best so leftovers for them.

She would buy legs all the time in the fall and freeze a dozen.

I don't use a microwave so no help there.

I might use the directions recommended but cut the time down and finish in the oven for a traditional toasting/roasting. Even better, buy one of each of a few different veggies to toss in olive oil, then roast in the oven for an hour...then place your turkey breast on top and roast for another half hour.

Meaning, one of each: sweet potato, reg potato cut and cubed, beet cubed, parsnip, carrot sliced, whole small brussel sprouts, just a few, etc.