SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
germanshield

Comparing two very different full system quotes

Cody
7 years ago

This is my first time using this forum, so sorry if this isn't the right place. This is going to be a wall of text, so feel free to skip to the quotes (or ignore me, hah).

I purchased my home a year and a half ago, knowing that the HVAC goodies were on their last legs. They are two 10 SEER 2 ton Rheems original from '96, and I'm not actually sure what my furnaces are (also two, in the attic and a much less important issue for my location). I was able to struggle through the summer in order to hopefully get a slightly better deal in this season.

Just got my most recent quote from a company, and tossed out 4 others. I'm now comparing two (the new one and an older one that I hope to negotiate on since it's not the middle of the summer now). My main problem is that they are two very different quotes and I'm not sure how to compare them or decide what would be best for my situation.

For reference, my attic is a limiting factor because of clearance. I believe a Carrier product would fit, but not something like a standard Trane. I have a two story, 1900 sq ft home that is cooled just fine by what I'm currently working with.

Quote #1 is from the middle of summer and the engineer that came out was the most professional of any of the 6+ I've had take a look at my setup. His quote includes re-engineering my attic furnaces. Quote #2 is from a week ago and more of a one to one replacement, albeit at a higher cost (more equipment). I'd be fine going with option #1 if I could be sure that I'm not losing capability or setting myself up for future headache. Anyway, here are the gists of my quotes:

Quote #1 - "I’m recommending removing both systems in the attic and installing one larger Trane complete two stage machine with Trane zoning. System will need to be designed horizontally for proper engineering."