SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
bman_152

Hard Pruning?

bman_152
8 years ago

Hello!

I just bought my first house this winter, and am looking at planning my yard projects now that spring is within sight :) This is my first time ever having any sort of yard/plants/etc to maintain, and I am very excited about the oppurtunity to learn about the proper care & maintenance practices..

Anyway, I'm hoping that I could get some advice regarding some hedges I have...

The hedges are evergreen (I think they are Yews??) & look very old/established/overgrown.. I would love to cut them to a smaller/neater/more manageable size.. Their current size ranges from 6'h x 6'w in the middle to 8ish' x 8ish' on the ends.. Ultimately, I'd love for them to be roughly 4'x4' with a more consistent size (aka not huge at the ends)..

The hedges have a very flaky bark & thick, succulent needles (not soft, but not super pointy either).. The one at the end is a slightly darker shade of green if that matters.. It looked to still be the same in texture/growth.. They are growing in SW PA..

*yes, I did quickly shear them in the middle of the winter.. Hence the sickly/rough/broken branches.. I know this is the ultimate no-no, but had to do something to clean them up.. The previous owner let them get very out of control (18" branches sticking out of the top).. Now that they are mine, id love to give them the care that they deserve..

My plan:

I was planning on cutting the hedges to roughly the 4'x4' size in early March (essentially cutting off all the needles & leaving just the main branches), and planting a cheap/temporary plant in front of them while they fill back out.. (They feature quite prominently from the street)..

My questions:

1- how long do Yews take to fill back out? I've seen a ton of conflicting information about this..