SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
samanthagrayce

Concerns about root (plant) health after move/pot & soil transplant

samanthagrayce
8 years ago

Hi all,

Pretty new here; I've been lurking for a few weeks trying to find my answers and decided to go ahead and dive in. I've read a lot of posts on soil quality (and related water retention, aeration, etc.) and the like, and I'm hoping to find some help from this incredibly knowledgeable community! I'm a fairly novice houseplant keeper (mostly spiderplants and pothos--very hard to kill...) but with a great desire to learn!

I have a few very special-to-me houseplants that were doing well until a few weeks ago when I made a move from east coast to west coast. (Pilea Peperomioides--not incredibly rare but very difficult to acquire in the United States and therefore difficult if not impossible to replace.)

I hand carried them bare-root on the plane to avoid shipping them in dark boxes with a lot of agitation, so they have received entirely new (commercially bagged) soil in new pots. I understand that there will of course be an adjustment period in climate/light/air/water quality etc. I've already lost two out of four of my little friends and am terrified of losing another! Of the remaining two, one began to look a little squishy at the top and lost its leaves, so I pruned back the stem and it is much more rigid now and an attached off-shoot is looking pretty good, as well as maybe a few tiny back-budding possibilities along the now-naked but healthy-ish looking stem.

The other one I sadly cannot say is doing quite as well. While she still has about 5 leaves left, they are very droopy and browning. I can see a new leaf trying to decide if it should come out at the top where they grow, but the stem is leaning and I sadly admit that it is feeling slightly soft at the top.