SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
customhomebuilderct

Connecticut Shoreline Farmhouse Renovation

Advantage Contracting
8 years ago
last modified: 8 years ago

I have enjoyed reading so many posts on these forums over the years and finally decided to post our own project for everyone. I know this is more of a question and answer forum but I have received many answers to questions here over the years and I thought our project could do the same for others. My wife and I are currently renovating an old farmhouse on the Connecticut shore that was in desperate need of some major TLC. We purchased the home in January 2015 and will be living here full time once the renovations are complete.

Before I begin to post our upcoming progress updates on this forum I want to mention that I am a professional builder. This scale of reconstruction is not for the faint of heart.

The Basement:

Our home had been converted into a two family rental many years ago by the previous owners which meant that we needed to reconfigure the entire home to function as an updated single family residence. Old furnaces, water heaters, broken plumbing, and damaged duct work littered the basement. The tangled mess of wiring and temporary support columns was overwhelming. Every piece of old mechanical, electrical, and plumbing was removed to the scrap yard of deposited in the dumpster.