SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
luvncannin

Squash harvest and question

luvncannin
8 years ago

We harvested over 30 butternuts and some pie pumpkin and cushaw. I read about storing after curing and wondered if under my bed would work in plastic bins. And should I leave lid on or off? Don't want to attract mice since I am in a camper. I am so excited to have a real harvest to store and today I finally have running water and gas hooked up.

Comments (25)

• luvncannin
    Original Author
    8 years ago

• chickencoupe
    8 years ago

I read and used the method of sanitizing the surface of the pumpkin lightly with bleach water to help avoid mold. I stored mine in the living room beside the sofa lol I would want them to be unsealed so they can have air. That's a good haul.

• Related Discussions

When to harvest squash

Q

Comments (16)
    FWIW, and slightly OT: This is my first year using the Early Prolific Straight Necks. While I am already loving the "Early & Prolific" nature of these, as well as the "magazine photo quality" of them, I do notice that they don't have as much flavor as the crooknecks that I've grown in the past. The zucchini variety that I have is Black Beauty, I believe, and again, I sense that the flavor is lacking. I have another variety in there that's not ready yet...some Hybrid thing that had a mere 6 seeds in the packet, and it's orangey-yellow & white spotted. Am anxious to find out what that tastes like. So take all this with a few grains of salt...the flavor will be better for it ;)
    ...See More

winter squash harvest question

Q

Comments (1)
    Leave it all alone until the leaves have withered to the ground and the vines and dead. It will be easy then to find you squashes and you won't have to worry about trashing your vines. But mostly this is usually what it takes to fully ripen a winter squash. If you need a pumpkin for halloween, then sneak in and grab one.
    ...See More

Harvesting winter squash

Q

Comments (7)