SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
huckdog1

Move and Divide!

huckdog1
8 years ago

I am new to hosts and I would like to move and divide a few that were here before me! Is this the time of year to do this? Any hints for success? I have so enjoyed all of the posts here and did order a few this past spring. I will be ordering more next spring,too! Thanks ! lesley

Comments (44)

• garyz6ohio
    8 years ago

I think everyone been waiting to reply to you because they all want a little more information on where you live and what zone you are in. That said, hostas are amazingly tough (for the most part, but there are exceptions) and can be moved even into the late Fall with proper handling and copious amounts of water and TLC. That said - if you can wait, Spring is always better, usually around the "pip" stage. Welcome to this strangely additive hobby Lesley. If possible add your zone to your sign in and state. Also, if you know the variety of hosta that you want to move and the size etc., it would really help.

• Marie Tulin
    8 years ago

To add your zone and area "permanently" to your username go to

My Houzz (upper right)

Edit my Profile

Add climate zone (on left, at bottom of list)

Do it! And we thank you.

• Related Discussions

moving or dividing lycoris

Q

Comments (1)
    Until better advice comes along I would say now is ok to move them, the more sun the better, and if the bulbs come apart easily when dug then yes divide them.... it's only when they are still firmly attached that I would leave them together. Dig them with plenty of soil since the roots for these bulbs don't die back. If you cut into the roots too much or allow them to dry out while transplanting you won't kill them but you might cause them to sulk for a year, and just sit below ground for a season not growing at all.....
    ...See More

Moving and dividing hostas

Q

Comments (4)