SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
jguissarri

Lawn re-boot help

Jon
8 years ago

Hi All,

My lawn this year has had a nasty infestation of crabgrass and what I think is poa annua and barnyard grass (along with some sort of leafy weed which I attached a picture of which I can't identify.) I like in eastern Massachusetts right near the ocean. I've attached some pictures for reference. My plan was to overseed the weekend of 9/12 and also give it a weed+fertilizer product for new lawns at the same time. As for what I have now, can I still hit with a Weed B Gone or should I just hand dig up as much crag/barnyard grass as I can? I've only owned my house for a year and this is my first full year taking care of a lawn so I'm still new to this. Any advice would be great.

Comments (42)

• User
    8 years ago
    last modified: 8 years ago

Use- "Bayer advanced ,all in one, weed& crabgrass killer". A week later- mow short, remove clippings , seed , and apply starter fertilizer.

• Jon
    Original Author
    8 years ago

Thank You. If I spray today/tomorrow, mow short and bag the clippings next weekend, I can seed the following weekend (9/12)? I know there's an aversion to most Scott's products on this site but since Lowe's is the closest place for me to buy these materials I was planning on using Scott's sun/shade seed mix along with their fertilizer for new lawns. Are there better products at the big box store I should be getting? Also, if the Bayer product works and kills the weeds in the lawn, will I still need to go and rip them all up by hand?

• Related Discussions

Re-grade and re-sod lawn

Q

Comments (1)