SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
wantonamara

Central Texas storm effects (Pic heavy)

I have been working on land restoration for a few years. We have just had some atrocious rains in the neighborhood. I was under the gun of 3 tornados that were said to be headed to me or once reported mistakenly, ON me. I dodged this bullet. What I did find interesting is the difference in how my land is acting in and after the deluge. I have been clearing underbrush on a steep ravine for years , mostly during an ongoing drought. I create berms with the slash parallel to imaginary topographic lines. I have left some branches in the stream bed since I am in a catch and drop area of the uplands. I might , most likely , do not have the proper terminology that I heard at a riparian workshop. I am well meaning dilettante who tries to self educate and I do misconstrue terms right and left. Sorry about that . My husband has been set against this messy slash activity, because it just isn't tidy. He wants a park with effortless walking. If the lay of the land is steep or if there are some wanted trees that I want more of. I pile the slash deep to keep the deer from foraging the madness, escarpment cherries, redwoods, bumela and others. I have discovered that nature rewards a mess and the bigger the mess the better. I think my husband is coming around being how the land is reacting to this treatment. I am also trying to hold the water back and slow it down.

Well the usually DRY arroyo rose up in all its glory and showed why there was such erosion on the land. The first picture is of the top fall the morning after the first two storms. I was amazed that we had any water running 20 hours after the deluge. Usually in, in the past we had it ONLY during the storm. It was still running gently. I was in my orange nighty and grabbed my camera and went off bushwacking. That's when I lost my sun glasses.