SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
six50joe15

Need help to make screen porch and deck more inviting

Joe Thomas
9 years ago

Hi, I'm new to GardenWeb, and this is my first post. We have a vacation home in a rustic area whose dining area is adjacent to sliding doors that go to the outside deck on its broad side, and to a screened in outdoor room at the end, which my guess right now is about 10' x 12'.

My father had designed and co-built the house in the late 80s, and the screened in porch is, I think, one of the best features of it. The problem: it is has been very under used over the years. We've tried using it as an outdoor dining area with a round table and 4 chairs, and more recently as a cocktail area with a pub-type high table.

The outdoor deck (also accessible via the screen room) gets use a little bit more, but mostly by my wife and our toddlers.

The kitchen is adjacent to the dining area. These two areas are by far the most trafficked part of the house.

When we have family and other guests over, people always congregate at the dining area. When having a conversation with someone in the kitchen, who often is preparing food, this is natural. However, people tend to stay in the dining area even when this is not the case, even when the weather is gorgeous outside. On evenings, the screen room has soft, dim lighting. The deck is illuminated by flood lights.

We've been ready to spend some money on the right furniture, decor and lighting for the screen room and deck for a while now, but have been afraid of not getting it right. We want the screen room to say 'come on in' at all times of the day and evening, and the deck to be just as inviting, especially when we have larger groups over. We're open as to function (dining versus lounging) in both areas. The floor plan doesn't give us the option of moving the dining area to another part of the house, so it would have to stay where it is.