SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
goldhills_gw

About wasting water

goldhills
18 years ago

Just been reading MM's thread and Len's reply (good points, Len). I just want to make a few comments on water.

I feel it isn't the real gardeners, whether beginner or experienced, that wastes water as most genuine gardeners who love their plants realise the value of water. I believe it is the keep-up-with-the-latest-fad gardeners and those without gardens who waste the most. They are the ones who should be penalised.

Gardeners should be encouraged to plant more. I'm not very good at explaining this but I'll give it a go. Trees and lots of vegetation promote rainfall and it is since much of the bushland was wiped out for agriculture that rainfall has been dropping off. This has been proven by scientists. I'm not blaming farmers as years ago no-one realised the effects - and we all need to eat. Re-vegetating open country back to its native state where possible may go towards a long term solution. It may not help a lot but every drop counts.

Instead of large scale farms, going back to the smaller market gardens and having more community gardens (watered with recycled water) to help feed locals and be more water & land friendly in the long run.

What do others think?

Comments (34)

• gardenlen
    18 years ago

good one goldhills,

yes the decimation of our forest and bushland habitat that is it! now if only the masses would remove their heads from the sand bucket and realise that, i'm living in one of those new fad macmansion suburbs where there isn't a tree of note within cooee and the only way a kingfisher can escape a marauding crow is to crash into, a window and end up dead.

yes cut with the water excess gardens plant trees and shrubs of the native indemic types, and yes as that asian philosopher 'fukuoka' says plant the trees and the rain will come.

so out with the cottage gardens and the lawns of lush green getting mowen twice a week and in with tree and shrub gardens.