SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
lazypup

Just a bit of nostalgia for the older ladies

lazypup
12 years ago

From time to time we have discussed laundry,,,I thought I would resurrect a flash from the past....

Actually the machine in the photo is quite a bit newer than the one I learned to do laundry with. Ours was an old Maytag with a gasoline motor which we continued to use up until about 1959

Comments (48)

• glenda_al
    12 years ago

I'm one of the OLDER gals :o)

And, yes, mother had the wringer in the backyard. THINK the middle one is more like the one mother had.

• Georgysmom
    12 years ago

I remember the one in the middle, too....and when we got an electric washing machine with the front load door, it was very exciting. Still had to hang the clothes on the clothes line though.

• Related Discussions

questions about ordering older roses for the first time

Q

Comments (23)
    I'll not try Cl. Mme. Caroline Testout right now then,... I'm a beginner, and I think having stiff canes and big thorns on something I'm trying to train over an arbor (or even a wall) would be hard for me. If I get her, I'll try the bush form and just let it be a bush. Melissa, thanks for more info about training Crepuscule! that sounds pretty good! considering that I'm using pinks and hot pinks... would Crepuscule match ok...? The pictures I see online vary a lot. Sometimes it looks light yellow, sometimes peachy. Or would Cl. Lady Hillingdon be better for #4? I've heard people describe that one as being kindof a glowy light yellow, so that could be really nice with the other colors. I suppose I'm leaning away from using a pink climber in the #4 position since I'll have a pink climber on the front porch and a pink sakura tree (though that only blooms spring). I love sages and such, and I'm definitely going to use some sages and lavendars in the front with cl Eden (and I'm guessing I'll use Duchess de Brabrant under Eden) If I have room, maybe I can use some in the back, too? Rig