SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
ltlfromgardenweb

Poll: How often do you use your microwave?

ltlfromgardenweb
10 years ago

I'm thinking about where I'll put my countertop microwave once my reno is done. Tempted to stick it deep into a corner. But I use it daily. Sadly, sometimes it's because my husband gets home later than expected and his dinner is already getting cool and I've turned the oven off. I have a (bachelor) friend who doesn't even own a microwave and says he doesn't miss having one and yes he does cook at home. So I was wondering about GWers.

Comments (63)

• barthelemy
    10 years ago

I cook daily but I use my microwave about once a week to steam small potatoes or cook those pop corn bags. It is a small countertop model (Sharp, stainless steel, but basic) that I put in a cabinet behind a door.

I reheat everything on the cooktop or in the oven and I use an electric kettle for boiling water (in my opinion it goes faster than in the mw).

For my current remodel I would have loved a combination convection/microwave to save on space but I have not found one with looks I like, so I'll do the same setup I currently have.

• fouramblues
    10 years ago

Only a few times per week*. We lived without one for 3 months during our reno, and missed it only when the tea went cold. Almost all our leftovers go to work with DH, and get heated up in the microwave there.

*This is a Very Good Thing, because I put the microwave in a TERRIBLE place in our new kitchen - way too high in the wall oven stack. It probably qualifies as a safety hazard. Dummy me!

• Related Discussions

P*O*L*L - how often do you 'visit' check on your home?

Q

Comments (19)