SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
amay1361_gw

Kitchen Layout - Feedback appreciated!!

amay1361
13 years ago

We're building a house, and are trying to finalize our kitchen layout. Dimensions for the kitchen are 18'8" by approx 14". Would love any feedback, as I'm new to this whole home building experience and am a bit overwhelmed by the process. THanks!

Comments (28)

• bmorepanic
    13 years ago

Answer a question with a question... What do you want?

There are good, bad and personal choice elements in any plan, but there's also a desire to have or achieve some goals for some amount of family who does some amount of entertaining.

When I look at your plan, without any other information, all I can give as feedback is the "bad" and how I would change it. The bad is the ref/frzr in front of the windows. Also the general width of that aisle considering the ref and frzr doors can completely block it.

As an example of comparing it to what I would do - I would not like an oven tower or even undercounter oven located in the general area shown. I would not want a tall thing that close to a cooktop and a would not want an opening oven door between me and the ref or pantry.

So, I think I'd look at re-orienting the kitchen so the cooktop was on the outside wall - removing one of the windows, the tall stuff was on the inside wall between the pantry and the kitchen and the island workspace faced towards the family room. I'd also probably look at making the "bar" a little bigger and have an entrance from the kitchen. I use the wines in cooking but NEED the margarita maker :)

• Buehl
    13 years ago

Welcome amay1361!

As BmorePanic has said, we really need more information before we can critique your proposed layout with your needs and wants in mind. I suggest you check out the "Read Me" thread, particularly the opening post and the "Layout Help" section.