SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
hzdeleted_20102524

Kitchen contractor dramas (before project start!)

User
10 years ago

Long-time lurker here with a question (note this is my first time signing on under this user name because I'm so anxious about the implications - just explaining that I'm not a troll):

We have a small old house in a very pricey metro area, the kitchen is tiny but needs major-league work on electrical, plumbing, load-bearing walls, etc. to improve it even slightly. We signed a contract with a reno firm about 2 weeks ago; gave them a 1/3 deposit as part of the deal, another 1/3 when the work begins, another 1/3 at the end. The firm had a hundred-plus great reviews (with a few exceptions), no complaints or other issues on record with state or local agencies, etc. It was a hard sell but having interviewed a bunch of contractors I wasn't totally shocked.

All seemed well - they began mobilizing to get the cabinets ordered, do electrical upgrades, etc. Then last week the sales person I dealt with told me that he had left the firm and warned me that the owner is a bad guy who does bad work. And that he only was trying to start a piece of project to force us to pay the next 1/3 installment.

Great. One of their only negative reviews involved a similar story (sales guy goes missing; owner is wacky; etc.) The sales guy himself is obviously wacky too, but that's not reassuring really. I've been hyperventilating all weekend.