SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
oldhousegal

Soapstone woes - where did you get yours?

oldhousegal
12 years ago

I have been researching soapstone for the past 2 years (thanks to this forum) and feel that it is the perfect choice for my kitchen remodel. Today I thought I had crossed 2 items off my list. Now I am so frustrated that I want to scrap this whole remodel. Too bad 2 of my walls are missing.......

I finally decided on my soapstone, and today I thought I had ordered the slabs. Even better, I was told while they were out of the slabs, they did have remnants, and I would save so much money by using the remnants. Then I get home from a class, and find an e-mail from my contact at Dorado soapstone, with a nearly doubled quote on the remnants- at the regular price! But I guess I should be happy that he did reply when he said he would, since it took a week after faxing in my plan to get a quote in the first place.

Every time I have called M.Tiextera Soapstone, I've gotten the run around- New Jersey has no idea what San Francisco has, and vice versa. But they are quick to have me call every store in every city, to find out what they have, since they obviously don't talk to each other. The gal in San Francisco is nice, but can't seem to answer my questions, the gal in New Jersey is rude on the phone, and then I was told, they have absolutely no idea if they will be able to get the stone I want. No idea? Isn't this what you guys specialize in? Is it me, or am I just feeling like I'm either being taken advantage of or no one wants to sell me soapstone?