SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
realjoy

Help With Layout & Design (photo heavy)

realjoy
10 years ago

We need to get our finalized kitchen layout to our builder asap. I would appreciate any and all help & feedback, as I'm new to all of this and want to be sure I get the kitchen right (this is hopefully the "forever home ").

BASIC INFO:
• The kitchen is 16' 7" x 14' 11". The kitchen opens to a dining/hearth room with fireplace. That space also bleeds into a large great room. Down the "hall", the GR is on left and office on right. Past the office is the front door, stairs down to lower level, and then finally the master area.

• My goals are lots of counter space, easy access near range for heavy cookware, largest pantry possible, would like to have a few (2-3) seats at island. Also, I have autoimmune illnesses, fibromyalgia & arthritis, so I need to plan for lots of drawer storage. I need to have all plates, bowls and often used cookware, mixing bowls, etc, all in easy reach and to minimize heavy lifting.

• Family composition - it is just me and my husband, with a 22 yr old daughter who visits occasionally. We do plan to have family over occasionally.

• I am the only cook in the home. My husband will sometimes help with cleanup.

• I see the kitchen being used as primarily a cooking area, but could see my husband and/or daughter sitting at island talking to me while I do things. I also plan to do a lot of canning & freezing, so I need space & organization for that.

• We wouldn’t entertain a lot. It would be occasional and informal (family barbeque’s, etc). Are not planning for kitchen to be a major hang out area…we are planning a huge great room and large deck for entertaining. We are also planning a hearth room/dining room area that is open to kitchen area. This would be our usual meal area.

• Our whole vision for the home is very open & bright. The home will be on 12 wooded acres and placed overlooking a stream. There will be lots of windows facing this view.