SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
confused_but_hopeful

advice on adjusting

So, Im new here. IÂve got a pretty complex situation (as I know every does). IÂd like some help and suggestions for how to deal with the things that IÂm feeling and the situation itself. So here goes. It's a long one...

I am a 27 year old with no children. I have been with my boyfriend for a little over 2 years now. He is a divorced dad of 2 boys (5 and 7). He is 38 years old and French. We met in the US when he was on business. He would come every 2 weeks to the US. After ½ a year we got an apartment together. Things were great. I met the kids once when I visited France. He brought the kids to visit once in the US. 1 year after dating, I graduated with my degree and wasnÂt finding a job. A perfect position opened up in a company he knew of in Paris and I was hired within a week of finding out about the job. It seemed like perfect luck as I couldnÂt find a job and I was planning on moving there eventually. Plus, the move was not inconceivable as IÂve lived abroad before. Now, here I am, 1 year into living in France and I feel like itÂs all falling apart. And the main issue that always gets put into the middle is his kids. There are other things going on as well. The job turned out a lot more stressful than anticipated, I hardly have friends here, of course I miss home a bit, and he got a promotion which keeps him out of town on Monday through Wednesday nights.