SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
inovermyhead_gw

I really need some advice

InOverMyHead
20 years ago

This is my first time posting. I am 33yrs old with no children of my own and have been dating a wonderful man with two teenage sons, 15 and 20. He was married for 22 years has been separated for 2 1/2 years. We have been dating for just over 1 year. There is no formal visitation agreement between him and his ex-wife and he sees his sons several times a week. It was a difficult decision for me to become seriously involved with a man who has children because I have never wanted children of my own and because I have had two step mothers myself. I was very cautious about meeting his sons until I was sure that I wanted a future with this man that included his children. Over the past three months, I have met each of them on a few occasions. His 20 year old son and I have gotten along very well and he has been very accepting of my relationship with his father and glad that his father is happy. His 15 year old son has been polite, but is a painfully shy kid, even around people he knows so it is very hard to know how he feels. The contact with his 15 year old son has been limited for now to him coming to watch us play softball and us going to one of his baseball practices together. I have met him on only three occasions so far and am taking things slowly. My goal is not to become their mother, they have one already. I really only want them to accept me as part of their father's life and to be friends with them, nothing more. I am very careful not to intrude on the time they spend with their father and ensure that they have as much time alone with him as they always have. I would be very pleased with how things are going right now if it were not for their mother. She is very angry at my boyfriend for leaving her and is especially angry that he has met someone else and is moving on with his life. She is obsessed with our relationship to the point where her son's are suffering.