SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
soontobestepmom

I don't know if I can do it

soontobestepmom
16 years ago

I have been dating my boyfriend for 2 years. He has a soon to be 4 year old daughter. He was married to bm, divorced, then had a wild night and concieved daughter. She is a first class brat. I can't even stand to be in the same room with her. I know it sounds horrible. I just can't stand the way she acts. She is spoiled rotten by bm and other family members, and its irritating to me. We speak of marriage often, and I just don'tknow if I can do it. I was the one who pushed bf to go to court, because he was paying an un godly amount of money to bm for support and never seeing daughter. So, now we are cauught up in a custody battle, and daughter is coming every Sunday. Last Sunday, I avoided her, I literally just left the house.

Here's my question.. am I totally crazy to feel this way?? Or is this normal? I am studying to be a teacher, so I don't just hate kids.. I just don't like her.

Ugh. I hate sounding so childish and petty. Please forgive me.

Comments (17)

• vistajpdf
    16 years ago

No, your feelings are normal. It is very difficult to be around a difficult child.

A word of caution: if the child support bothered you now, and you are in the picture in the future, you will NOT be happy when this girl talks daddy into buying her a car and every other thing she wants. Been there, done that. Kids weren't respectful of me or their dad, but suddenly he was very popular when they began driving. It was infuriating, so be careful.

If her behavior doesn't improve, she will be a thorn in your side and your marriage will suffer. You will be resentful and grow bitter.