SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
mom2emall

bio mom probs

mom2emall
16 years ago

I am new to this and guess I just need some advice. And maybe a chance to vent! My husband and I have been married for a few years. He had 3 kids from a previous marriage. He has custody and the mom has moved around constantly. And not close moves, moves from state to state. She now lives across the country from us! She calls her kids every month or so, pays no child support, and makes all kinds of promises to the oldest that she never keeps. She has not seen the kids in about a year. As if that was not bad enough a bill collector called us the other day. Seems that the car she got repossessed that was in both their names never got paid off. My husband told her that she HAD to pay it off, it was her car and even the divorce gave her the car (darn finance company does not respect court orders!). She said she was broke. My husband told her that he would not lift a finger to help her see the kids until that was paid. Well, she never paid it so it is on my husbands credit still.

His ex now wants to take the kids for a while over summer, and the youngest is not legal age to fly without adult. So she has the money to fly herself out here and get the three kids and fly them back with her. Then do the same to bring them back. So why can she not pay for the car? It makes me soooooo mad! I want to tell my husband that if she is going to have money for all this airfare, but cries poor about the car we should stick to not lifting a finger to help her see the kids! I think that she can take a cab here from the airport to pick up and drop off the kids. I also think that we should send no extra clothes or stuff with them, she can spend her money to buy them clothes, she doesnt pay child support or even pay off the car she had! By the way, a few days after the car got repossessed she had a new SUV with leather interior! Am I being petty? What would you do in this situation?

Comments (88)

• cawfecup