SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
jagmuse

Newbie Layout Attempt - would love some opinions

jagmuse
15 years ago

Hi All - newbie here. I've started playing around with layouts (although I think ultimately we will go to a KD, but I want to have a pretty good idea of what I want to do before going). We have a kitchen that was originally a small galley kitchen and dining room, but subsequently had the dividing wall torn out. There is a support beam where that wall was, and also a support beam along the one wall, but they shouldn't impact cabinet height - I think minimum clearance is 84".

There are 2 of us, and we don't do big dinners and are generally pretty informal. We hardly ever use the kitchen table we have now. We have always wanted a breakfast bar. But I don't know if we can make that work, given the size of the kitchen (11'6" x 17'9"). I should also add that I hate hate hate lazy susans and weird corner shelving, so I was thinking I would put a wall oven in the corner by the sink, but that may be a bad idea, and would love to hear what ppl think.

We are trying to keep the budget low, so I want to avoid a whole lot of moving of water/electric/venting, because the home is concrete block everything (walls, floors, ceilings), so it's not just a simple matter of moving things. The fridge does have water in it, so that is a consideration, although I think we can pretty easily put in a water hook-up on the opposite side. But I haven't really moved the appliances around much.

We also have our washer/drying in there. Currently they are in a weird little closet that wastes a lot of space, and is not original to the house, so I was planning to tear that out, and have them either under counter, or incorporated in somehow, to maximize space. I'm planning to get under-counter Duet Sports, and either stack or put side by side under a counter, but my two attempts at a peninsula/breakfast bar aren't leaving enough space.