staying home with kids

mom2emall

So I am struggling with a decision. My dh and I have talked about me staying home next year instead of working. We have pretty much decided I will stay home next year.

Our youngest will only be in 1/2 day kindergarten in the fall. I am a teacher and love teaching, but HATE the district I have been working in. I have stayed there because I am comfortable, been there for a few years and love most of the staff. But it is an hour drive for me now and the district is changing for the worst in my opinion. No matter what, after this year I was going to look for employment in a district closer to home.

This year has been tough with me working so far, getting off work and then driving to pick up the youngest from my in-laws, then driving to 2 different schools to pick the kids up from the afterschool programs. I only have to do this 3X a week, the other 2 days my dh is home. And on the weekends I am home. But those 3 days are HE**. We get home with enough time for dinner, homework, showers, and bed. With my ss being in 1/2 day kindergarten next year there is no guarantee that he will get morning kindergarten. And if that happens he will not be able to go to my in-laws house and we will need to find care for him 1/2 days.

We have discussed me staying home next year and just subbing on my dh's days off. This way I can see what districts close to home I may want to work in full-time.

The problems is that we mentioned that I will be staying home to some family members and they look at us like we are insane! They act like it is unheard of for a mom of 3 to stay home?? I know their opinion does not matter, we need to do what is right for us. But did any of you who had a career and chose to stay home with your kids for a while get the same attitudes from people about it?

SaveComment143Like
Comments (143)
Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
kathline