SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
boxerpups

Help, I need some advice on my Family rm

boxerpups
13 years ago

Thanks to anyone and all who can help me.

I have hit a negative design rut in my life. Everytime I

start I seem to want to just cry. This is so unlike me

as I studied Art history in college but I am

unable to work on my space. I ignore it and go about

my day. I would rather scrub toilets than try to

fix this. I think I am so lost in the ulgy mess that

is, I just don't know where to turn. I could use

another set of eyes to take it apart and help me start

over or if it is really bad just sell the place and

move.

Things I want to keep.

My red leather Natuzzi sofa, chair and ottoman. I love

them. The soft baked Scone paint color by Behr.

I can change the family room wood floor to match the rest

of the wood floor in the house. Even though I kinda of

like that it is lighter. The kitchen stays as dark wood

floors and white cabs with graphite colored counters.

I have taken 5 quizzes and they all say I am modern

but my home exterior style is traditional ( I think)

Here is an image of my home on the outside...Oh one quiz

said I was romantic tuscan ??? what does that mean?

Clearly I am desparate. One quiz asked which room do you

keep the door closed. I am thinking that would be my house.

Oh a little more about me. I have 3 kids 2 are teens,

2 larger boxer dogs and an easy going husband. But he is

picky about keeping his flat screen tv in the room. Yes, the tv stays.

Here are few images.

I need to think about drapes or window coverings. The

light is brutal in the summer. We have those horrible

blinds that work for now. I also have a wood cornice

that I would love to use or recover with fabric. It goes

the length of the windows 16 feet in a bay shape.

This is my favorite painting ( I could easily loose the blue willow plates)

I like these little vases The red paint is in my DR.

IGNORE the rug, I moved that out ages ago. It is funny