SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
new2quilting

August Redwork Class - Lesson One

new2quilting
16 years ago

Redwork Butterfly Pin Cushion/Ornament. Please refer to the Redwork Lesson Plan post for supplies. Link to Butterfly pattern is listed below.

Disclaimer: I am not a professional teacher and this is my first time teaching Redwork (and teaching online). But I enjoy Redwork and Id like to share this technique with you. Some of you are beginners and some have much more experience than I do. Ask questions, share your tips and techniques. There is no one right way and I hope that we can all learn from each other. This project is for your own enjoyment and since the Mini Butterfly pattern is a free online pattern, any and all copyright and usage agreements are per the original pattern designer.

LESSON ONE: SEWING THE REDWORK BLOCK

WHAT IS REDWORK?

Redwork is simple embroidery designs worked in running stitch, traditionally in either Turkey red or in blue ( Bluework) and used for quilt blocks. The term "Turkey" red comes from the fact that the threads were made in Turkey. Redwork became popular in the early 1900s and often sold as "Penny Squares", six inch pre-printed muslin squares sold for a penny. Most often these were animal themes, children's themes, nature themes, and kitchen themes. As was pointed out in a previous post on the forum, red thread was used because it was one of the first colorfast threads. Modern Redwork can be in any color (color work). (See http://www.prettyimpressivestuff.com/redwork.htm for more info).

WHERE TO FIND REDWORK PATTERNS?

Patterns can be purchased or many are available to download for free from various quilting/sewing websites. But these arenÂt the only sources for patterns. Redwork can also be made from images from rubber stamps, coloring book pages, a child's drawing or any other pattern with a line drawing. The pattern we are using was originally intended as an appliqué pattern.

COLORING BOOK CAT

RUBBER STAMP IMAGE