SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
cas66ragtop

Question about renters and security deposits

cas66ragtop
12 years ago

I know this forum is for SELLING houses. Unfortunately there is not a RENTING forum, so I apologize if this is considered to be incorrectly posting.

I have been renting out my house (that didnt sell) for the past 2 yrs. The tenant was pretty decent, took decent care of the house, but there are a couple problems. I am trying to figure out a what would be considered fair, as far as keeping some of the security deposit. I also don't want a scenario where I really make the tenant mad and I get my house vandalized later on.

1. They left windows open and a door open - causing a vaccuum, which slammed the door shut so hard that the lower portion of the door frame seperated from the wall by about 2 inches, also causing some drywall damage.

2. The stainless steel kitchen appliances were all brand-new when they moved in. The oven - looks like food spilled on the interior oven "floor", and they must have taken a metal putty knife to scrape it off - all the paint has been removed, exposing bare metal. This space is about the size of a basket ball. I don't know that you CAN repair this, and it is going to get all rusty and nasty looking.

2A. The dishwasher had a stainless mirror finish interior. We have a lot of problem with lime and calcium build up, as we are on well water. We do not have a water softener. The interior of the dishwasher is now completely gunked up with build-up. What used to look like a highly polished chrome mirror is now all white and rough. Nasty looking. I know I can't blame them for the fact that this stuff does build up - but they DO make products that you can clean it with (that they never used) so the build up doesn't get out of hand.