SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
linda117117

Ok, home buyers, whats your take?

Linda
17 years ago

I'd love to hear how buyers feel about homeowners being home when they are viewing their houses. I am an agent that recommends my sellers go away when the house is being shown. I have one family in particular that stays around, pushes the brochures and DVDs on the home on every prospective buyer, talks non stop about the house and its upgrades and personally, I believe he's blown at least 2 sales. About every other time the house is shown, the wife sends me an email telling me, the people from yesterday or this morning seemed interested. I suspected people were just being polite. I'd love to hear what buyers think.

Comments (52)

• Carol_from_ny
    17 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

I don't like the owners around. Keeps me from saying what I have to say about the house to the realtor and to my DH. Realtors need to know on the spot what their clients like and don't like. It helps them narrow the field of possiblities.
    The one time it happened to me. I was the seller and the realtor called last minute. He begged to show the house. I wasn't too happy but I didn't want to loose a possible buyer so I agreed. They weren't in the house two minutes and the realtor asked me about something in the house. As it turned out because of the uniqueness of the house and some of it's features I ended up showing the house to the realtor and his client. Turned out I sold it that very night to his client.
    Realtor came right out and admitted several hours later when he handed us a contract that I sold the house. He had no intention of selling a house that night as he had plans to leave for a trip out of town that night.

• sparksals
    17 years ago