SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
lucillle

What's in your china cabinet?

lucillle
9 years ago

I'm in the middle of painting the living/dining rooms (a huge job, all the prep getting up on the ladder and taping and so on is not as easy as when I was younger).
My next project is to paint the china cabinet with chalk paint. I've never done chalk paint before but it sounds lovely.
Up until now the china cabinet held china below and glassware above, and I have quite a bit. I am thinking after I finish the chalk painting, I want to have some of the serving pieces of my china on top (the top part of the cabinet has windows) because it is a pretty pattern. and maybe less glassware.
I'm gradually paring down 'stuff' anyway, I find rooms are easier to clean and I like the way they look more when there is less clutter.
What do you have in the display (windowed) part of your china cabinet?

Comments (32)

• monica_pa Grieves
    9 years ago

Serving pieces of
    My Wedgewood bone china,
    and my crystal cut glass - some of it from my Great grandmother, my grandmother and my mother.

• rob333 (zone 7b)
    9 years ago

I don't have a china cabinet. He got all the furniture in the divorce. Instead, it all sits out on a baker's rack shelving in my kitchen. I ended up liking this set up. It makes me see what I have and, really, I have used it more. I don't want to wait until something really special to use it. Each day has something special about it! Of course, I don't have the really expensive china, just some nicer and some every day dishes. Now, at my mom's house, she has all the really good china. We used it at Thanksgiving and Christmas. That sits in the china cabinet at her house.