SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
vicky4x4

Question for today 3/21

vicky4x4
15 years ago

Who taught you to sew? How long have you been doing it? Do you sew anything but quilts?

I watched my sister sew growing up. No one really taught me, I just started doing it. I have been sewing quilts for 17 years :-) Then I made a lot of my girls clothes but not any more. Besides quilts, I sew throw pillows, pillowcases, and bags. Once in a while I'll make myself a dress.

Vicky

Comments (21)

• grammyp
    15 years ago

I can't really say who taught me to sew. Everyone I knew growing up knew how to sew and I watched all of them. I did take home economics in jr-high and high school to learn the "right" way to sew, but wasn't impressed with the "right" way. I like to have fun with my sewing, who likes bound seams anyway. I used to sew most of my clothes and made some for the girls when they were little (at 23 and 25 they don't want mom's sewing anymore) and still make costumes for friends and neighbors. I made a fortune in Barbie clothes (at 15 it seemed like a fortune anyway) but those tiny pieces hurt my eyes now. Every now and then I make table cloth, valance, tote bags, and small items, but quilting is my favorite.

beverly

• jennifer_in_va
    15 years ago

My mom taught me how to sew clothes when I was 8 years old. By the time I was in 6th grade, I did a whole fashion show for the 6th grade talent show!

I did make one quilt/comforter when I was probably 11 or 12 because my mom wouldn't pay $$ for the matching one to my rainbow sheets.