SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
kaysd_gw

1st attempt at design plan - please give feedback

kaysd
13 years ago

Thank you in advance for your time and any advice you can give me. This is my first attempt to post a layout (I just signed up for Photobucket today). We hired an architect because we are opening up a structural wall and adding another wall. He gave us plans for a proposed kitchen layout, but I am not in love with his plan. I have tried to draw up my own plans, and could use some feedback please.

My plans are hand drawn, so I am going to give an explanation of each wall in case the drawings are hard to interpret. Sorry if this post is too wordy.

Plans are in Photobucket - I hope this link works: http://s1118.photobucket.com/albums/k604/Kay-SD/

General Notes:

1. The west end of the kitchen currently has a wall dividing the kitchen from the combination living and dining room, which is approximately 18' wide x 33' long. We plan to open up a section of that wall approximately 8' high x 12' wide to open the flow between the living areas. The current kitchen feels so dark and closed off. When we are cooking, we want to be able to watch the kids playing in the living room and enjoy the views from the living and dining room windows. There are ocean views to the west and ocean and bay views to the south. The views are a bit better than what is shown in the photo since we trimmed the hedges shorter. The dining room table and china cabinet will be near the kitchen, and the living room furniture is at the west end of the great room.

2. The kitchen currently has a small family room at its east end. We plan to put up a wall to turn that into a small guest room. Our architect drew up preliminary sketches with a kitchen depth (east-west) of 15' and kitchen width of approximately 14' (north-south). 15' is the maximum depth as the bedroom on the other side of the new east wall cannot be made any smaller than that; the kitchen depth could be less than 15'.