SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
kathsgrdn

Going to go look at a house today! (long)

Kathsgrdn
13 years ago

I can't believe I'm doing it. I thought I'd be in this house forever, but I don't really like it anymore. It's so small and I really hate my kitchen/dining area. There are very few cupboards and everything is always falling out when you open them, even after you just rearranged things to fit better. The bedrooms are tiny, except for the master bedroom.

So, been thinking of looking for something a little bigger lately. I thought Alex would only be back for the summer and maybe holidays, but he comes home every single weekend! So, he's using one of the bedrooms. The exchange students are in the other, Lauren in the 3rd bedroom and me on the couch in the living room. I've been sleeping there for probably 5 years now anyway because of my back and sleep apnea. Now that I can lay flat, I really want to sleep in a room with a bed.

The house I'm looking at is almost twice the size of my little house, one story, with a den (that Alex could use when he comes home to sleep in), a separate dining room, and something I've always wanted, a laundry room. It's also closer to the park where Lauren hangs out with her friends, making it easier on my mind when she walks home later in the evening. It's also nearly right across the street from the high school so the kids could walk to school in the morning.

Oh, and it has a 2 car garage instead of a tiny one -so won't be so easy for me to knock a side view mirror off my car-lol. It also has a fireplace in the den, which I've also always wanted. The only problems would be the backyard doesn't look completely fenced in so I'd have to do that, but that's not a problem. It would also be easier to walk Emily in the park too, as we would be just down the road from it, instead of across a busy main road and a couple blocks more. Lauren's always wanting to walk her. She's getting a bit chunky and is bigger around than Luther now.