SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
dennisjones_gw

PEX installation questions

dennisjones
16 years ago

Hi,

This is my first time posting here, so go easy on me! :-)

My home was built in 1974 and uses galvanized pipe throughout. We recently (last weekend) had a pipe burst inside the wall behind a bathroom lavatory. I had been planning to replace the existing galvanized with PEX anyway, so now I guess it's time to actually do something about it.

I have a couple of questions that I hope someone can address for me. First, let me describe my home's plumbing configuration: My main line (3/4" galv) comes in at one end of the house (by the bathrooms), and the water heater (W/H) is on the other end (by the washing machine). The main shutoff valve is under the house in the crawl space, where the main line comes in, and is easily accessible (just open the door, drop down into the crawl space and it's right there).

The 3/4" main line T's off to a 3/4" line that goes to the W/H, and a 1/2" line that supplies the cold side of the baths/sinks/toilets in the bathrooms (nearby). The kitchen sink is supplied by the 3/4" line (via a T to 1/2") before it gets to the W/H. Thus, water for the hot fixtures in the baths travels the entire length of the house (twice!), while cold runs only about 15 feet. All fixtures are supplied by 1/2" lines.