SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
mahatmacat1

What do I need to know to be successful if I take a booth

mahatmacat1
14 years ago

at an antiques mall? What's usual, what's a sign of a place to avoid, what's important to look for? I read about the automatic 10% cut, so should I price things a bit higher in anticipation? Is there a good website where I can learn about this whole enterprise?

The kinds of things I have/like are also sold at retail by various mcm places in the city already. Should I consider I'll be selling to their buyers? Which would give me definite profit over what I've paid, but not as much as if I were selling to end-users, or whatever you'd call the folks who don't turn and resell.

Thanks very much in advance. Seems there are many folks here who do this already and I'm a completely newbie to it, but it sure would be nice to clear out some of this space and not have to do it all by listing, packaging and mailing.

Comments (26)

• allison0704
    14 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

One thing I overheard in a local store (from owner to new booth tenant) was have small, inexpensive things (soap, hand towels, lotion, candles, etc) because they will pay your rent some months.

• mahatmacat1
    Original Author
    14 years ago

allison, thanks--and what you wrote speaks exactly to a thought I had. You know, after I posted I started thinking about the general economy and I'm now thinking (maybe I should have done that before I posted?!) that it would be better to wait until the economy stabilizes before I start putting money out for rent...we may have to live with (beautiful) clutter for a bit more.

• Related Discussions

I need serious weed help please. I don't know what to do.

Q

Comments (3)