SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
tracey_oh

October New Recipes

Tracey_OH
11 years ago

I apologize if there is already a thread going....I searched back to the September threads and didn't see one. Here's my latest find. Apple Cider Doughnut Cake. On a whim I bought some spiced apple cider from Trader Joe's then searched for a recipe to use it all as I was the only person actually drinking the cider! This recipe used a method I've never tried before. Cooking the apples in the cider then pureeing them for the cake. So basically making an applesauce. The cake is covered with a cinnamon sugar mixture which we liked but I think a cinnamon glaze would put it over the top!!

Apple Cider Doughnut Cake

from Serious Eats

For the Cake:

9 tablespoons (4 1/2 ounces) unsalted butter, at room temperature

1 large Granny Smith apple (about 8 ounces), peeled, cored, and roughly chopped

1 1/2 cups apple cider

1/2 cup milk, at room temperature

2 1/2 cups (about 12 1/2 ounces) all-purpose flour

1 1/2 teaspoons baking powder

1/2 teaspoon baking soda

1 teaspoon salt

1/4 teaspoon ground nutmeg

1/4 teaspoon ground mace

3/4 cup (about 5 1/4 ounces) sugar

1/2 cup (about 3 1/2 ounces) packed light brown sugar

3 large eggs, at room temperature

1/4 cup vegetable oil

1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract

For the Cinnamon Sugar Coating

6 tablespoons granulated sugar

1 teaspoon ground cinnamon

1/8 teaspoon ground nutmeg

1/8 teaspoon salt

Procedures

For the Cake: Adjust oven rack to middle position and preheat oven to 350�F. Grease Bundt pan with 1 tablespoon butter.

In medium saucepan, bring chopped apple and cider to boil over medium-high heat. Reduce heat to medium and simmer until most of the cider has been absorbed and apples are easily smashed with a fork, 10 to 12 minutes. Remove pan from heat, cool 5 minutes, then pulse in food processor until pureed. Measure out 1 cup apple mixture and stir in milk; set aside.