SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
samkaren_gw

Need Your Help (Honest Opinion)

samkaren
12 years ago

My interview for the job on campus is on Wednesday. Since I am 0 for 4 I wanted your honest opinions on some of my answers to the questions they usually ask.

Tell us a little about yourself:

I start by saying that DH and I moved to the area 3 years ago from Joliet. Then I tell them that I have been an Admin Asst for over 20 years, worked at Lewis for 14 and the number of departments i worked for. I then tell them that I have been in my department for 3 years.

In one word how would your boss describe you:

Dependable

Your best asset:

My work ethic....I enjoy coming to work and doing the best job I can.

Your weakness:

Dark chocolate (just a little humor) and that I can't learn everything as quickly as I want to.

Why did you apply for this position:

I am looking for longevity and a position that I can pretty much stay at until retirement.

I do say more than what I wrote but wanted to give you an idea.

Do you think I am saying the right things?

I also go into the interview with a positive attitude and a professional look (attire)

Please give me your honest opinions. I really want this job.

SamKaren

your resident DJ

Comments (38)

• marie_ndcal
    12 years ago

Could you be telling them too much? Maybe something like I have had extensive training in the job you are offering, but leave out the # of years at each job. I am willing to learn new tasks (or whatever they call it now). As to what your previous boss thinks of you, maybe something like willing to work with others, positive attitude, enjoys working with the public (if you do this) etc. Best asset, I do the best I can, and my private life does not come to work with me- why did you apply? I enjoy working and hope to continue expanding my field with new technology. --or something to that general thought.