SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
mabeldingeldine_gw

30 minute (or less) meals

Hi All,

I've been occasionally lurking over the past months as life has gotten exceptionally busy for me as I am running for the state legislature.

I am hoping for a long list of simple-to-prepare light dinners for DH and I after I come home from canvassing in the evenings after work. In the summer it is easy, we have a big salad with something from the grill, but as the days get longer and the season winds down I'm looking for new ideas, and figured you good people will have great suggestions!

No allergies here but we are a bit calorie conscious and I aim for non-prepared food meals, but am not opposed to things like canned beans.

Thanks!

Comments (11)

• NHBabs z4b-5a NH
    9 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

As a former teacher, I can sympathize. By the time I got home I was usually tired and hungry and didn't want to spend a lot of time cooking.

For our winter meals, I often used the crockpot which I could set going in the morning to have ready when I got home. Beef stew with lots of veggies and low fat beef, and chlli with beans, veggies, and low fat beef or turkey are two favorites and one pot lasts for more than one meal, either two days in one week, or one meal for the freezer. You can also do much of a beef stroganoff in the crackpot, adding the dairy when you get home.

I also often cooked ahead of time so that I could warm things up when I got home. Baked pasta dishes and quiche work well for this as does a roast chicken which can be used in other dishes later in the week.

We still use the grill in winter, so that can continue to be an option, just with grilled, steamed, or roasted veggies instead of salad. Stir fries and stove-top pasta dishes tend to be fairly quick dishes that can be made when needed.

I tend to watch calories by adding more veggies than called for, using lower-fat meat and dairy, and using a smaller plate.

• grainlady_ks
    9 years ago