SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
sbm321

Hourly rates for decorating/consulting, and how to increase...

Sueb20
10 years ago

A little background. About 10 years ago, with 3 young kids at home and starting to think about what "going back to work" would look like for me after about 7 years at home, I went back to school in a certificate program in Decorative Arts at an art school in Boston. I took 1-2 classes at a time for about 3 years. Halfway through, friends started asking me to consult on their decorating projects, then friends of friends...and as a student, I charged $25/hour. By the time I was done taking classes, I had a little part-time gig working for myself, which worked out great because I could make my own hours and take summers off. I soon increased my rate a bit, to $40. After a few more years, I raised it again, but not by a whole lot.

In the past 7 or so years, I've been working VERY part time. As a *decorator* -- I never call myself an interior designer because I do not have the credentials. I often refer to myself as a consultant. I do a lot of work w/ helping clients choose paint colors, figure out floor/furniture plans, choose materials like tile and fabrics, and help navigate the furniture stores (with varying degrees of hand holding). All of my business is word of mouth, except for the 2 hours I donate to a town/school fundraiser each year -- which almost always leads to more (paid) hours from the "winner" and often a referral to a friend or two.