SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
vacuumfreak

cooking with other milks...

vacuumfreak
13 years ago

I've decided not to consume cow's milk anymore after reading so much about the hormones and how humans aren't equipped to properly digest it... I have tried soy, almond, and rice milk. Of the three, I think I like the almond milk the best and it is the most like the fat free organic cow's milk I've been buying for a few years now. Except it only has 60 calories per cup instead of 100! My question is, is it OK to substitute almond milk (or any "other" milk) in recipes that call for regular milk? Would it adversely affect the results of the end product? Anyone else make the switch from cow's milk to something else?

Thanks!

Comments (9)

• dgkritch
    13 years ago

I'll be watching this thread with interest! Thanks for posting, Bobby.
    I am interested in exploring the options too. Not because I'm giving up cow's milk, but the fat/calorie savings is pretty big.

I am a little confused as to why you are concerned with hormones in your milk if you're buying organic?!?
    There shouldn't be ANY!! Anyone with input on this one?

Deanna

• vacuumfreak
    Original Author
    13 years ago

True, but you never really know, and even if there aren't hormones in it, apparently "experts" say that we still weren't meant to consume it.... but we aren't "meant" to consume a lot of things that we do! The calorie savings blew my mind.... I couldn't believe that fat free milk had that many calories... or that almond milk had so many less! I can barely tell a difference when I use it on my organic flax cereal (which I'm enjoying.... who'd have thought I'd like a cereal that didn't have ANY sugar and didn't have cartoon character on the box?!).

The other advantages are that almond milk is actually cheaper than the organic milk I'd been buying and seems to last longer!

• Related Discussions

Potatoes cooked in milk/cream for mashed potatoes?

Q

Comments (7)