SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
jojoco_gw

Do you cook like an engineer or a writer?

jojoco
14 years ago

or, how does your profession influence your cooking style? I am thinking about this because I have a sil who is an engineer and whose work is always on the cutting edge of technology. My background is in writing. She is a wonderful, yet methodical, cook. If we both eat something, I might say "what is in it?" so I can try to replicate it whereas she will always ask for the recipe. We both love cooking, and have the same experience, more or less, so I don't think it is a confidence issue. I think that she, as an engineer, needs to break down food to its components. She could also happily dice veggies all day long. She sees the parts, I see the sum of the parts. Baking, of course, is the exception to a degree, but even when baking, I am constantly changing things.

What about other professions? Do you think for example, that architects lean towards visual precision in their finished food product? I am reminded of the past trend in restaurants to stack food to unnatural heights. I hated it. I hated looking at an angular tower on my plate. Too architectural, minimalist and cold looking. Give me a spilling chicken pot pie any day or anyother hot mess. I wonder if others would feel exactly the opposite?

I am not picking on architects--they are just an obvious example here.

Jo

Comments (63)

• althetrainer
    14 years ago

Me? A free style cook, whatever I have on hand can go into the pot. I see myself an abstract painter when it comes to cooking. As long as I like it, everything goes. :-)

Al

• ghoghunter
    14 years ago

I cook like a nurse and a mother! hah!
    Joann

• Related Discussions

Do you use a writer's pseudonym or two or three?

Q

Comments (9)