SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
amysrq

Can somebody talk to me about roses...

amysrq
14 years ago

I know there is a rose forum, but I also know there are people here who grow roses and I am a little afraid to throw myself to the professionals! ;-)

Today, I fell in love with a Hybrid Tea called Heirloom. It was at my local nursery and I had to bring it home. I have no experience with roses, but I bought some Rosetone and even some chemical spray, even though everything else I do is organic.

So, I get home, look up the darn thing and I see conflicting advice about zone hardiness. Dave's says zone 7 and I saw another website that said 6 or 5...not clear. I believe I am in zone 5, but I don't really know if I can trust the USDA map yet....still too new here.

So, should I take the thing back or should I give it a try? The spot I had in mind is pretty exposed. But, I also could plant it on the south side of my house and hope for a microclimate. Problem there is I have yet to prepare a bed on that side of the house.

So, as a beginner, am I just being crazy? Thanks! :-)

Comments (28)

• parma42
    14 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

"I have no experience with roses,"...and you started with a hybid tea?!, lol.

Sounds like a girl who likes a challenge. :) They are among the hardest to grow. Along with whatever rose spray you bought, make sure you have a fungicide, also.

Honestly, your place of purchase should know what zones they belong in, unless you purchased from a big box-then all bets are off.

Sorry, just reread your post and you said you bought at a nursery. They aren't going to sell you something you can't grow. Just give it plenty of winter protection.

• cooperbailey
    14 years ago