SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
zoey_neohio

Question about brokerages

zoey_neohio
17 years ago

Hi!

I have some mutual funds with a brokerage firm that appears to be always buying funds that are front end loaded. I understand why they are doing this, but if I ask them not to what will be their incentive other than possibly buying a fund that has an huge expense ratio, than I loose again.

As you can probably tell, I am very new at this and trying to understand about brokers. Seeing as they are in it to make money and quotas, how can they ever be on my side?

Also, on my statements, there are class A funds which I think means they are ront loaded and than the last thing for the same fund has it as a tpe C. What does the type C mean?

Is it easy to change brokerages and is there a penilty for doing so?

Comments (16)

• alphacat
    17 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

In general, a class A fund charges a load (often between 5 and 6%) when you buy the fund, a class B charges when you sell it, and a class C charges during the time you hold it. I am skeptical about the wisdom of buying a load fund for any reason, as I don't understand what you get in exchange for the load.

Anyway, it's hard to talk about your options without knowing a few more details. First, are you sure this is a brokerage you're talking about, or is it a mutual-fund company, perhaps with a brokerage add-on? If it's a stand-alone brokerage, then whatever these funds are are presumably capable of being held in any brokerage, but it's a kind of arrangement with with I'm unfamiliar.

If it's a mutual-fund company, you probably can't transfer the fund to another brokerage without selling it and buying somethine else. That might or might not expose you to taxes, depending on whether you have capital gains and whether we're talking about a taxable account or a tax-deferred account such as an IRA.