SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
daisychain01_gw

a big rant

daisychain01
11 years ago

As many of you know from my previous posts, I am a teacher. This weekend, we had an extra day off school. Usually, these are PD or administration days, but this time it was just a day off. I ran into a parent at a social event and he gave me a snarky comment about teachers and all the time off we get. I have been stewing about it ever since.

Last week, before my Friday off, I worked Monday and Tuesday as usual - 8 to 5 pm. I went home and did another hours work each night preparing, filing and marking. I also answered at least 3 emails from parents each night (generally these emails refer to information I have already sent home in either an email or hard copy or can be found on my classroom blog.) I had parent/teacher interviews coming up, so I also spent time reviewing assessment and preparing what I needed to tell parents.

On Wednesday, I had parent/teacher interviews, so I worked from 8 am to 8 pm with 30 minutes for lunch and 5 minutes in the morning and afternoon for bathroom breaks (no supper break because a parent whose wife had come at their alloted time, misunderstood and came by himself during my 15 minute break time and wanted a repeat of the interview I had just given his wife.)