SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
arabellamiller

Decorating advice

arabellamiller
15 years ago

Hi everyone. I haven't been around for a while because of school (3 classes) and kids (still 3 kids), so not much cooking or non-school related internet time. I'm only taking one class this summer and will have a little extra time on my hands, so of course taking it easy is out of the question. I need a project.

I recently got a bug up my bum about decorating the house and thought I'd start here before the decorating forum. We've been here two years, and it's still an aesthetic nightmare. I'm thinking I could save myself tears and stress by hiring a decorator. I've never used one before, and my taste tends to run askew of most of my friends' taste in decorating. I love mid-century modern, but I'm afraid of my house looking like a theme room. I like clean, uncluttered lines, but still want a comfy family room. I like DWR and West Elm, but don't want my home to look like one of their displays. Also, my kids are still young, and while I want nice things and my kids are (relatively) well behaved, I don't want to freak out everytime some kid puts a cup down without a coaster or forgets to take their cleats off when they come in the house.

So, what should I do? Try to find a decorator I like who will help me find affordable things? Do it myself? What room do I start in? I'm not financially ready for a kitchen re-do, mostly it's the family room, my bedroom, the office, the screened porch and a rug and curtains for the dining room that I need. I'm not worried about the kids rooms and the formal living room is a playroom for the next few years. Family room is the priority.

Advice?

Thanks in advance,

AM

Comments (10)

• dedtired
    15 years ago

I have done both -- with decorator and without. In the end, I liked the design I did myself the best. She did come up with a few ideas for furniture placement that was helpful.