SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
nonnie_ga

Microsoft Word/Word Perfect

Nonnie_GA
16 years ago

I have a Dell 2300 with a Intel Pentium, 1.75 GHz processor and 256 ram. It came installed with Word Perfect 10. When I bought it it was for minor computer stuff like surfing, paying bills, etc. I now am doing a small newsletter and am getting error messages with the WP. Also, graphics that are forwarded to me are not always compatible and I have trouble inserting them into the newsletter. I have two questions, please:

First, I am on the last page of the newsletter and it will not let me put in the copy that I need to put in. I get a message of "insufficent memory" although I have already put it in and it jumped from page 23 to page 64! What can I do to be able to get this simply little article in and out of my hands!?

2. I would like to use Microsoft Word instead of Word Perfect. I am a novice at things like this. I need to know if I can install Microsoft Word and do I need to uninstall WP 10? Is it installed like regular software and is it a lot of trouble to do so? Any help you can give me will be appreciated.

Comments (13)

• Nonnie_GA
    Original Author
    16 years ago

I forgot to say that I have Windows XP on my Dell.

• owbist
    16 years ago

Nonnie with only 256 megs of RAM (memory) on your computer there is very little you can do with real success. You need more RAM. Microsoft says XP will run with 256 megs but they fail to mention how well it can run.

Another 256 megs will work wonders for you, more RAM would be better of course but only you know how much funds you have available for extras like that.