SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
vacuumfreak

does anyone still handwash their dishes

vacuumfreak
17 years ago

I know that "everyone" has a dishwasher these days... some people just put filthy dishes in, some scrape and rinse first, and some wash completely and call the dishwasher a sanitizer. I'm moving into my first apartment and will not have a dishwasher. It is a low income place (but in a good part of town) because I am a college student and it's what I can afford. It will just be me, maybe my boyfriend will stay over once or twice a week, so not having a dishwasher will be fine. I'll probably have a lot of TV dinners until I get better at cooking anyway. I thought about getting a countertop dishwasher, but I don't think it will be necessary. I've never not had one before though, so I need some advice. How do you sanitize when you handwash? If you get the water really hot, you aren't able to touch it. Do you fill a sink with rinse water and dunk the dishes, or use a moving stream to rinse with? Do you towel dry or air dry? What kind of dish drain do you use? Wood, metal or plastic? I saw a nice chrome one in Linnens N Things that I think I will get. Do you use a sponge, or rag? What about those Dawn powerbrushes? I've seen all kinds of fun looking devices with sponges or scrubbies on the end and a hallow handle that is filled with soap.. how well do those work, and is there one in specific I should try or avoid? I tried dawn direct foam before, but I don't think you can get the dishes very clean without using a sink of soapy water. I think that Dawn is the best cleaning brand of dish soap for the money... anyone have any opinions on that subject? I don't know if I will have a spray hose or not, I don't move in for a month. If not, I will buy a double jointed arreator for the sink that just screws onto the end of the faucet to make life easier. I am sure I will do glasses first, then plates and silverware and pots and pans last. Knowing me, I will probably let t