SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
mojavean

My Miele Morning!

mojavean
13 years ago

Well, the Miele techs just left. I had to have them out to fix my speed oven, which had sadly stopped broiling and convecting and had become a very expensive microwave. Since I used to be a technician myself years ago, I totally know when a tech knows what he or she is doing.

And when he or she does not.

The fellow who came out today really knew his stuff. Since I had had my oven apart previously to fix a separate issue, I knew, for instance, how the top panel has to be canted up from the rear for a retention lip to be freed along its front edge. It was like the guy had done it before. The master tech also had along an apprentice who is just learning the ropes. Since my oven was being worked on and I was paying them for the work, I decided to listen in and ask questions, too. It was great fun!

Let me cut to the chase and tell you what was wrong with my speed oven. I have the H4080BM, the slightly older Master Chef model (mine is one that I bought new from a builder who had it sitting in his garage for awhile and never used it) Anyway, what had happened is the bearings in the cooling fan had stiffened up so that the fan wasn't turning fast enough. There is an rpm counter on the fan that sends a continuous stream of pulses to the logic board, telling it how fast the fan is turning. If it does not turn fast enough, the logic board will not energize the resistance heater elements, either the convector in the back or the broiler element above.

So it was a bad fan causing my problems.