SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
edlakin

Induction--Why??

edlakin
16 years ago

I've noticed that a lot of posters here are either installing or considering induction cooktops, and it seems that most people are considering using them in conjunction with gas.

one question--WHY?

i am a professional chef who has to deal with induction cookers at work because my restaurant is in a large high-rise building and we cannot, under the terms of our lease, use gas.

the induction cookers do a decent job of replicating the output of gas, but i would never choose them.

so i'm wondering what is the rationale for those of you who want them at home? i could understand if it was strictly for safety considerations, but it seems like many are adding them onto kitchens that already utilize gas.

any thoughts? are there advantages to induction that i'm unaware of?

Comments (30)

• weissman
    16 years ago

Induction seems to be the hot new technology especially for people who don't have gas in their house. For people who do have gas, some think induction is safer and/or more energy efficient. The smooth top is also more attractive than big grates to some people. Also, isn't induction faster at things like boiling water - I know regular electric is. I think some people go with both induction and gas burners as a way of hedging their bets.

I'm curious - since you're familiar with induction in a professional setting, why wouldn't you choose it for your home?

• alywa
    16 years ago

I've been wondering the same thing. I can see using induction if gas isn't available and one doesn't want to deal with LP, but what other reasons are there?

Are they considered greener than gas? I guess less CO2 emissions, and you can buy renewable electricity (if your area has that option). What else?

• Related Discussions

Induction Cooktop-Question: Use of two 11' pans

Q

Comments (50)